U.S. Stocking Partner for Flow Nerves1 capsule a day · 30 capsules a bottleShips from the U.S. with tracking60-day guarantee
Order now

Ingredient 4 of 6

L-Carnitine in Flow Nerves: Form, Evidence and Medicine Notes

L-carnitine is an amino-acid-like compound your body makes. It is the fourth name listed for Flow Nerves, with no milligram amount and no form printed. MSK links diabetic neuropathy to acetyl-L-carnitine, a different form. NIH says about 3 g a day can cause nausea, cramps, diarrhea and a fishy body odor.

  • No mgprinted for this name
  • Form unknownnot stated anywhere
  • 3 g a daywhere stomach effects appear
  • 2-4 ga day in a thyroid trial

Written by the Flow Nerves label deskUpdated

The basics

What is L-carnitine?

L-carnitine is an amino-acid-like compound that your body makes and also gets from food. It is the fourth name on the Flow Nerves list from the brief and the seller's page.

The seller says it supports "mitochondrial energy production". Mitochondria are the tiny parts of a cell that turn food into energy. We found no study of Flow Nerves that tests that wording.

The form is the catch. L-carnitine, L-carnitine tartrate and acetyl-L-carnitine are different compounds. MSK says L-carnitine and acetyl-L-carnitine are not the same (MSK, Carnitine). The brief and the seller's page do not say which one Flow Nerves uses.

L-carnitine in Flow Nerves: what the list shows, next to research. Sources: (NIH ODS, Carnitine) (MSK, Carnitine) (Benvenga 2001, Carnitine and thyroid hormone)
Name on the listL-Carnitine
What it isAn amino-acid-like compound the body makes; many forms are sold, and the sales page does not say which one this is
FormL-carnitine, L-carnitine tartrate and acetyl-L-carnitine are different compounds; the form is not stated
Printed amountNot printed in the material we have. No Supplement Facts image was supplied and the sales page prints no milligram for this name.
Amount used in researchAbout 3 g a day of carnitine supplements can cause nausea, vomiting, cramps, diarrhea and a fishy body odor; a thyroid trial used 2 to 4 g a day
How the label comparesThe label prints no amount, so it cannot be set next to 3 g
Strength of evidenceMSK lists diabetic neuropathy as a purported use of acetyl-L-carnitine, a different form; the NIH fact sheet does not mention nerve pain
Marketed or traditional useSold as supporting 'mitochondrial energy production'
Main cautionMSK says L-carnitine may add to the effect of warfarin and other blood thinners. A 2001 trial found it acts against thyroid hormone at 2 to 4 g a day. Seizure medicines such as valproic acid, and some antibiotics, can interact with carnitine.

The picture at the top is the vendor's illustration of the ingredient. It is not a photo of what sits inside a capsule.

The evidence

Does L-carnitine help nerves?

No source we read says that plain L-carnitine helps nerves. MSK lists diabetic neuropathy as a purported use of acetyl-L-carnitine, which is the form discussed for it, not L-carnitine (MSK, Carnitine).

The NIH fact sheet on carnitine does not mention diabetic neuropathy or nerve pain at all (NIH ODS, Carnitine). So a reader who sees "acetyl L-carnitine nerves" in a search should know the research names a different compound than the one the brief lists.

FormWhat the sources say
L-carnitineNamed in the brief. NIH does not mention nerve pain.
Acetyl-L-carnitineMSK lists diabetic neuropathy as a purported use. It can increase nerve pain from chemotherapy.
L-carnitine tartrateNot discussed in the sources we read.
Flow NervesForm not stated.

The numbers

How much L-carnitine is in Flow Nerves?

The material we have does not say how much L-carnitine is in one Flow Nerves capsule. No Supplement Facts image was supplied, and the seller calls the six names a "proprietary blend".

The bars show two reference points from the sources, next to the dashed "not printed" bar. NIH says about 3,000 mg a day of carnitine supplements can cause stomach effects. A 2001 trial used 2,000 to 4,000 mg a day (Benvenga 2001, Carnitine and thyroid hormone). These are amounts a source used or named. They are not amounts in a capsule.

  • Magnesium (supplement upper limit)

    Label amount: not printed
    Printed on the Flow Nerves labelnone
    350 mg a day: the Tolerable Upper Intake Level for magnesium from supplements350 mg

    A reference amount says what was tested or advised, not what works for you. No study tested Flow Nerves. (NIH ODS, Magnesium)

  • Alpha lipoic acid (trial dose)

    Label amount: not printed
    Printed on the Flow Nerves labelnone
    600 mg a day: the amount the diabetic neuropathy trials used, mostly by vein for 3 weeks600 mg

    A reference amount says what was tested or advised, not what works for you. No study tested Flow Nerves. (Mijnhout 2012, ALA meta-analysis)

  • L-carnitine (stomach effects)

    Label amount: not printed
    Printed on the Flow Nerves labelnone
    3,000 mg a day: where nausea, vomiting, cramps and diarrhea are reported3,000 mg

    A reference amount says what was tested or advised, not what works for you. No study tested Flow Nerves. (NIH ODS, Carnitine)

  • L-carnitine (thyroid trial)

    Label amount: not printed
    Printed on the Flow Nerves labelnone
    2,000 to 4,000 mg a day: the amounts in a 2001 thyroid trial4,000 mg

    A reference amount says what was tested or advised, not what works for you. No study tested Flow Nerves. (Benvenga 2001, Carnitine and thyroid hormone)

Dashed bars: what the label prints, which is nothing in the material we have. Solid bars: the reference amount from a study or authority. Each pair is drawn to its own scale, so compare the pair, not one pair with another.

A fair question for the seller is: which form, and how many milligrams, are in one capsule? See the formula page.

Side effects

What are the side effects of L-carnitine?

About 3 g a day of carnitine supplements can cause nausea, vomiting, abdominal cramps, diarrhea and a fishy body odor, NIH says (NIH ODS, Carnitine). MSK adds heartburn, headache and high blood pressure (MSK, Carnitine).

NIH also notes that gut bacteria turn unabsorbed carnitine into a compound called TMAO. NIH says the meaning of that is not well understood. We mention it only so you are not surprised if you read about it elsewhere.

Chemotherapy and nerve pain

MSK says acetyl-L-carnitine can increase nerve pain caused by chemotherapy. If you are in cancer treatment, ask your oncology team before any carnitine product.

Flow Nerves: 2, 3 or 6 bottles30 capsules a bottle · 1 capsule a day · 60-day guarantee

See packs

Medicine check

Does L-carnitine interact with medicines?

Yes. MSK says L-carnitine may add to the effect of warfarin, and to other blood thinners such as clopidogrel, apixaban and rivaroxaban. Ask your provider if you take one (MSK, Carnitine).

NIH lists the seizure medicines valproic acid, phenobarbital, phenytoin and carbamazepine, and pivalate-conjugated antibiotics such as pivampicillin, as interacting with carnitine (NIH ODS, Carnitine). In a 2001 randomized trial of 50 women taking levothyroxine, 2 to 4 g a day of L-carnitine acted against thyroid hormone (Benvenga 2001, Carnitine and thyroid hormone).

If you takeWhat a source says
Warfarin or another blood thinnerL-carnitine may add to the effect (MSK).
Seizure medicineListed as interacting (NIH).
Pivampicillin-type antibioticsListed as interacting (NIH).
Thyroid hormone (levothyroxine)Acted against it at 2 to 4 g a day in one trial.

The label prints no carnitine amount, so we cannot say if a capsule comes close to a trial dose. Ask your pharmacist. The Medicine Switchboard maps all six names to the medicines they touch.

Who should ask first

Who should ask a doctor first?

Ask a doctor or pharmacist before L-carnitine if you take a blood thinner, thyroid medicine or seizure medicine, are in cancer treatment, are pregnant or nursing, or are under 18.

Keep taking prescribed medicine, and never stop it because of a supplement. If you have new numbness or tingling, see a doctor before any supplement. Mayo Clinic says to seek medical care right away (Mayo Clinic, Peripheral neuropathy). Our guide on when to see a doctor lists the warning signs.

FAQ

Flow Nerves questions people ask

What is L-carnitine?

L-carnitine is an amino-acid-like compound your body makes. It is the fourth of six names listed for Flow Nerves. No amount and no form are printed in the material we have.

Is Flow Nerves acetyl-L-carnitine?

Not as far as we know. The brief says L-carnitine and the form is not stated. MSK says L-carnitine and acetyl-L-carnitine are different compounds, and links nerve research to the acetyl form (MSK, Carnitine).

How much L-carnitine is in Flow Nerves?

No amount is printed in the material we have. No Supplement Facts image was supplied. Ask the order desk at +1 (302) 200-3480 for the form and the milligrams per capsule.

What are L-carnitine side effects?

NIH says about 3 g a day can cause nausea, vomiting, cramps, diarrhea and a fishy body odor. MSK adds heartburn, headache and high blood pressure (NIH ODS, Carnitine).

Can I take L-carnitine with warfarin?

Ask your provider first. MSK says L-carnitine may add to the effect of warfarin and other blood thinners, which could raise bleeding risk (MSK, Carnitine).

Does L-carnitine affect thyroid medicine?

In one 2001 trial, 2 to 4 g a day acted against thyroid hormone in women on levothyroxine. The label prints no amount, so ask your pharmacist if you take thyroid medicine (Benvenga 2001, Carnitine and thyroid hormone).

Does L-carnitine help diabetic neuropathy?

The research MSK cites is on acetyl-L-carnitine, a different form. The NIH fact sheet on carnitine does not mention nerve pain, so no source links plain L-carnitine to it (NIH ODS, Carnitine).

Who wrote this

Written and reviewed by

Written byThe Flow Nerves label deskIflownerves, U.S. Stocking Partner for Flow Nerves

Pages built from the label, the brand panels and linked NIH, FDA, CDC, FTC and peer-reviewed sources.

Medically reviewed byDr. Eric Roberts, DPM, PodiatristRole: Medical reviewerReview date: November 3, 2026

Last updated . Read our editorial standards and how we check reviews. This website is the information site for a U.S. stocking partner for Flow Nerves. It is not the manufacturer or a distributor named on the label. We earn money when you buy through our order links.

U.S. Stocking Partner for Flow Nerves

Ready to try Flow Nerves?

Check your medicines first with the Switchboard, especially diabetes medicine, blood thinners and blood pressure medicine, and see a doctor about new numbness or tingling, then pick a pack. On the seller's count one bottle is 30 days; 3 bottles cover 90 days and 6 cover 180.

  • Pay at the seller checkout
  • 60-day guarantee
  • Ships from the U.S. with tracking
Six Flow Nerves capsule bottles with navy and teal labels

Flow Nerves capsules2, 3 or 6 bottles · 30 capsules a bottle · 60-day guarantee

See packs